From left to right: Maria Connor, Beverly High School; Kyle Costello, Pentucket Regional High School; Sofia DeSimone, Triton Regional High School; Kellen Waters, Ipswich High School; Michael J. Jones, President and CEO; Jason Kluge, Rockport High School; Soo Ae Ono, Gloucester High School; Cole Dwyer, Hamilton-Wenham Regional High School; Jenny Conant, Masconomet Regional High School; and Emma Fisher, Newburyport High School

Since 1820, the Institution for Savings has been committed to positively affecting the lives of every person, business and organization within the communities it serves. As part of that commitment, the Bank, through its three charitable foundations, awards $15,000 each spring to graduating seniors from Newburyport, Ipswich, Beverly, Rockport, Gloucester, Hamilton-Wenham Regional, Pentucket Regional, Triton Regional, and Masconomet Regional High Schools.

In addition, the Bank awards four $1,000 Norman L. Quint Scholarships to graduating Ipswich High School seniors. Mr. Quint retired from the former Ipswich Co-operative Bank in 1990 after 30 years of dedicated service. (The Institution for Savings and the Ipswich Co-op merged in 2007). His tenure included 19 years as Chairman of the Board. As a result of Mr. Quint’s vision, a school bank branch was established at Ipswich High School.


To qualify for the $15,000 scholarships, graduating seniors must attend one of the schools listed above; be one of the top 50 students in his/her class; be accepted for admission at an accredited two or four year college or university; demonstrate traits consistent with the Bank’s vision of positively affecting other persons or community through leadership, volunteerism, innovation and/or service; and demonstrate strong academic achievement.

Applications are available online here or in each school’s respective Guidance Offices and may be either submitted, along with the required accompanying documents listed on the Application, to the Guidance Offices or directly to Patricia Connelly, Institution for Savings, PO Box 510, Newburyport, MA 01950. Completed applications MUST be received by March 29th .


Beverly High School

Gloucester High School

Hamilton-Wenham High School 

Ipswich High School

Masconomet Regional High School

Newburyport High School

Pentucket Regional High School

Rockport High School

Triton Regional High School